How Forever Feels (Friends First Series) by Laura Drewry – Review

From USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry comes a warm and witty new Friends First novel—perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery. How Forever Feels is a sweet tale about the one that got away . . . and the one that came back.

Maya McKay’s heart is as big as Jack Rhodes‘s shoulders are broad. Their chemistry is out of control, but it could never work between them because Jack is more than just best friends with her cheating ex-husband—they’re like brothers. Maya, the sensitive, practical florist, has given up on love and is ready to settle for like. But now that Jack’s around again, he’s stirring up old feelings—and turning Maya’s fantasies into irresistible reality.

Jack blew his chance with Maya years ago when he stepped aside for his best friend, Will, and he’s still kicking himself about it. Maya was promisedforever once before, and she got burned. But when Jack realizes that second chances aren’t going to fall out of the sky, he seizes the moment—and the woman he’s always loved—to show her how forever truly feels.

 Buy on Amazon

USA Today Bestselling Author Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. It helped that she and her husband had just moved 700 km away from their families, it was the dead of winter and she was about 49 months pregnant with their second child, all of which gave her the excuse she needed to hunker down and get at it.

Her books have been described as “delightful,” “clever,” and “smart, sassy and refreshingly different.”

After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon and an extremely energetic German Shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, and when someone else cooks dinner.

My Review –

How Forever Feels is the second book by Laura Drewry that I have read. I absolutely loved the first one so when I had the opportunity to review How Forever Feels, I leapt at it.

Both of the books were sweet romances and full of humor and friendship. They are well written and the characters are so lovable, you just want to eat them up. I love the group of girls that includes Maya, the leading lady in the book, has. They love each other and have each other’s back come what may. And, just let any man hurt one of them and see what they have to say!

If you are a fan of chick lit and sweet romances, you will definitely want to pick up this series. I’m giving How Forever Feels five stars and you will too.

I am going to leave you with a few of the ‘laugh so hard, you snort’ quotes from the book.

“What’s up?” “I was wondering if you’re free on Saturday.” She moved her phone even closer to her face until all he could see on his end was her left eye and the side of her nose. “What are you doing?” “Trying to see you better,” she said. “You look far away.” “Oh my God.” Laughing, Jack picked up his phone and brought it closer to his face. “Better?” “Oh! Yes, much better. Hi.” “Hi.” “Hi.”

“Who was it?” “Delilah someone-or-other. She’s an artist.” This time when Maya snorted, there was no laugh to go with it. “If by artist you mean slut, then I know exactly who you’re talking about and feel I should warn you that they probably don’t make antibiotics strong enough for what she’ll give you.” He’d started laughing when she used the word ‘slut’ and was still laughing long after she’d finished. Hands down that had to be one of the harshest things he’d ever heard her say about anyone-and that included Stella, though he guessed calling her a skank was pretty much on par with calling Delilah a slut.

Jack propped the phone up on top of the T cabinet, so it sat right at his eye level, and proceeded to get into his ‘payamas,’ too. “I was helping to hang trim today,” he said, tugging off his jeans, “and there might have an issue with the finishing gun. It wasn’t like I actually shot anyone with it, but Delmar refused to come back in the room until I put it down. Hang on.” Dancing around on one foot at a time, he tugged off hsi socks and tossed them on top of his jeans. “Uh, Jack?” “Just a sec.” He ducked to the side, yanked his shirt over his head and tossed it on the pile too. He was going to have to do laundry again soon. “There.” When he finally picked up his phone again, Maya was grinning from ear to ear. “Oh, don’t stop now,” she said. “It was just getting good.” “What are you-?” Turning, he found himself staring straight back at his reflection in the m irror above the bed, Iron Man underwear and all, and if he was guessing right, his phone had been high enough on the cabinet to catch the full show in the mirror. “Shit, Maya, I’m … I didn’t mean-” “Oh please.” She laughed. “Don’t apologize. That’s the most action I’ve seen in a long time.” Jack dropped his arm so she couldn’t see his face, then realized he’d waved the screen right by his crotch. The whole time Maya’s voice continued to taunt him through that tiny little freakin’ speaker.

“If you think guys are the only ones who burp and fart, you’re living in a dream world, my friend. The difference is that women don’t go at it like it’s an Olympic sport, that’s all. And we don’t blame the dog!” Jack stared down at her, laughing over his disbelief. “Not gonna lie, Snip, you’re starting to gross me out.” “Good. Give me something else.” “Okay.” He chuckled. “When I spill something on the floor, I call Pete (dog) over to lick it up.” “Big deal, I usually use my sock.”

 Buy on Amazon

 

 

My Life. One Story at a Time. is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small fee may be earned when purchases are made at Amazon through the link above. A free book may have been provided by the source in exchange for an honest review. Views expressed by authors are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views of My Life. One Story at a Time. My opinions are my own. This provided in accordance with the FTC 16 CFR, Part 55.