Accidentally in Love by Laura Drewry – Review

Accidentally in Love by Laura DrewryFans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery will love Laura Drewry’s warm and humorous new Friends First romance, a sexy romp about a good cop and a bad girl playing hard to get.

 
Ellie Palmer and cops don’t mix, and getting pulled over by Officer Brett Hale—again—doesn’t help. Neither does being forced to take a safe-driving course with him. Brett’s by-the-book attitude leaves Ellie ice-cold, and his rock-hard body won’t change that. Still, the more time she spends with the guy, the more she finds herself warming up to his unexpected charms.

Even though Brett comes off like a boy scout, Ellie has sparked something he wants badly enough to get him to rethink his past mistakes. But when her ex shows up, Brett makes it his mission to keep Ellie safe in the here and now. His gut tells him the guy’s trouble, and Ellie must agree, because she doesn’t complain when Brett pulls her close. To keep her safe, though, he’ll have to choose between breaking her heart . . . and breaking the rules.

Buy on Amazon Kindle

USA Today Bestselling Author Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. It helped that she and her husband had just moved 700 km away from their families, it was the dead of winter and she was about 49 months pregnant with their second child, all of which gave her the excuse she needed to hunker down and get at it.

Her books have been described as “delightful,” “clever,” and “smart, sassy and refreshingly different.”

After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon and an extremely energetic German Shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, and when someone else cooks dinner.

My Review –

I posted this book without my review, well – because I hadn’t finished the book! I really enjoyed Accidentally in Love. You clearly know love is coming, but you have no idea how and it ends up being a bumpy road with a few surprises thrown in.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes. You would need to read the book to fully understand where they are coming from, but I wanted to let you have a peek at the author’s writing.

Brett blinked down at her, clearly unamused. ‘License. And. Registration. Please.’ Sh.t. The last time he’d spoken to her in that tone, she’d wound up in the back of his police cruiser for almost half an hour while he took his sweet time running her license through the system. While she’d steamed back there on the molded plastic seat, Dudley Do-Right sat in the front seat plunking away on his computer and completely ignoring her. For all she knew, he could have been leveling up on Candy Crush or updating his Facebook status. The only time he acknowledged her was when she told him she could tap out Morse code faster than he could type. And even then, his only response was a slow turn of his head and his usual flat stare.

‘So what’d you do?’ ‘You mean after I stopped screaming and yelling and carrying on like a three-year-old?’ ‘She really did,’ Gail said quietly, with a firm nod. ‘You should’ve heard her.’ ‘Yeah.’ Ellie could hear the amusement in Brett’s voice even though he didn’t laugh. ‘After that.’

‘So I’m going to go upstairs and have a nice long shower now.’ ‘But you showered before you left this morning.’ ‘I know, but this time I’ll be trying to scrub images off of my retinas, so you might not see me for a while.’

This time it was three heads in synchronized shaking. No answers, no ideas, no nothing until Regan snorted really loud over a laugh, almost like she’d been holding it in for so long it just wouldn’t be contained another second. ‘Sorry, Ellie, I just can’t believe my a.. you haven’t had sex with him yet. I mean, come on-it’s no wonder he’s so pis…ed!’

I know I used a few explicit quotes, so forgive me if your sensibilities have been compromised. The author has a great sense of humor and one of the quotes reads completely out of context – it was to entice you to read.

Accidentally in Love is a sweet lovable story. It has friendship and romance and humor – good, funny humor. The writing is fantastic and I just thoroughly enjoyed the book.

I’m giving the book a five-star rating and it deserves every one. I can’t wait to read more from this author.

Buy on Amazon Kindle

 

My Life. One Story at a Time. is an Amazon advertising affiliate; a small fee may be earned when purchases are made at Amazon through the link above. A free book may have been provided by the source in exchange for an honest review. Views expressed by authors are their own and do not necessarily reflect the views of My Life. One Story at a Time. My opinions are my own. This provided in accordance with the FTC 16 CFR, Part 55.